Breath-ful

IMG_0362

A friend of mine said to me, “breath is everything”. I couldn’t help but be narrow-eyed and jaded. “Everything?” I asked. That’s a big word.

“It’s the beginning of everything. Everything starts from the breath,” she continued.

Still muddled, though less jaded, I started to let that thought work its marinade at the back of my mental refrigeration storage unit. It sat there for awhile.

And then, a few days later, events entered my life that created anxiety. An emergency here. A major worry there, my mind and soul whirring off of their mountings. Breathe. Just breathe, I remembered. It’s the simplest thing I can do. It’s the one thing I can do successfully right now if I take the time to do it thoughtfully, intentionally. In this time of spinning outward into the stratosphere, I can center on the very thing that gives me life: breathing. I can give myself this gift of life within the twirling chaos.

Breathing. It isn’t everything, but it is the beginning of everything. Sometimes paring life down to bare bones beginnings can open up worlds in us that may lead to other places. Better places.I’m banking on it; I’m breathing on it.

2 thoughts on “Breath-ful

  1. Breathe in, breathe out, repeat. That’s all I can do but for me there’s many amazing things unfolding right now with the beginning of school, the beginning of that long awaited start of my first body of work and the recent knowledge that my first mentor is a heavy hitter in the LA art community. Breathing is good for everything and yes, it’s the one thing I can do without any mistakes!

Leave a Reply

