Preparing for change: saying good-bye at 18

400820_2977615525364_1411151026_33215382_534230150_n

After my daughter’s rite of passage, when she crossed the threshold of leaving home and entering a new adventure into serving a low-income neighborhood in Chicago at age 18, I found that marking that event for myself, its joy and sorrow, helped create a salve for my heart. It embraced the moment with all of its gratitudes and difficulties.

Missing

My genetics are pasted

to your internal wall,

muscle connects muscle

across the skyline,

and I, like a fishing line,

cast my thoughts into

your inward diaries.

All I get now is

a wave of light,

a face, a whisper

from the faraway,

a stroke of hair

teased out by sunlight,

a word that tinkles

and stitches out

the seamline

of your voice,

a vast swath of sunrise

that sketches out

the color palette of

your being,

something in the

air that tells me

you

are

in

the world.

– Gina Marie Mammano

3 thoughts on “Preparing for change: saying good-bye at 18

  1. Such a lovely poem, Gina. An echo of a child’s laugh, colored glass shards catching sunlight fading, glimmers of what was their sound as the wind blew them into each other, a whisper remembered, that secret shared without word just memory. These are the sensations that rustled across my mind as I read your poem. Oh, and the smell of cotton sheets pulled from the clothes line just as dusk settles into a warm summer day’s end… thanks for the share.

Leave a Reply

